There are no exceptions or waivers to the license fee.
No extensions or refunds are made once the license is issued.
There is a three day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used.
The license is good anywhere in the State of Oregon for 60 days from the effective date.
Legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon for both bride and groom is 18 years of age.
Anyone not yet 17 years of age cannot be legally married in the State of Oregon. A seventeen-year-old can be married if they have the parent's or guardian's consent. Parent and guardian consent forms are available from this office.
If you are seventeen and have resided within Washington County for at least six months, and no parent or guardian resides in the State of Oregon, you may be married if you have an affidavit signed by someone other than the bride or groom stating these facts. Affidavit forms are available from this office.
Medical examinations and blood tests are not required.
Issuance After A Divorce
A license can be issued one day after the final date of a divorce. The final divorce date is required on the marriage license application.
Licenses Not Issued
Oregon state law does not allow a marriage license to be issued to parties of the same gender.
- Oregon State law does not allow the marriage of first cousins or nearer kin.
What Do We Need To Obtain A Marriage License?
Each party will need to provide the following information on the marriage license application:
- Your birthplace.
- Your parents' birthplaces.
- Your parents' original names prior to first marriage.
- The effective date that each applicant's prior marriage ended, such as by death or divorce (if applicable). You are not required to present documents or other proof.
- The name you will be using after the marriage takes place. (Further information concerning name changes in Oregon is available from the Recording Office.)
Please complete the application carefully, as any change made to the license after it is issued will require a $20.00 amendment fee.
Each party will also need to bring a photo ID at the time the license is issued.
Who May Perform A Marriage?
Judges (see the following link for information about judges who perform marriages: http://courts.oregon.gov/Washington/General_Information/Going_to_Court/pages/weddings.aspx)
County Clerks or their Deputies within the appointing county (Note: Washington County clerks and deputies do NOT perform marriages)
Justices of the Peace
Persons appointed to perform the ceremony by a congregation (i.e., ministers, pastors, priests, rabbis)
Licenses By Mail
Washington County Recording Office
To obtain a marriage license by mail, please send a self-addressed stamped envelope to:
Public Services Building MS #9
155 N. First Ave. Room 130
Hillsboro, OR 97124
An application will be mailed to you with instructions on how to fill it out. On approval of your application, which is normally within 3 days of receipt, we will send your license to you.
How To Obtain A Certified Copy Of Your Marriage License
A certified copy of your marriage license is used to show proof of marriage, or effect a name change with agencies such as Social Security or the Department of Motor Vehicles.
To obtain a certified copy, you may either visit the County Recording Office or request a certified copy by mail.
The fee is $7.75 per certified copy.
When requesting a copy by mail, please include the following information: groom's name, bride's name prior to marriage, and the date you were married. Enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope and the appropriate fee in the form of a check or money order. Mail your request to:
Washington County Recording Office155 N First AveMS #9
Hillsboro, OR 97124
To allow time for the marriage officiant to return the license to the County, please allow approximately two (2) weeks following the wedding before you request a certified copy.