Measure 11 Crimes

Measure 11 is a 1994 ballot initiative that sets minimum mandatory sentences for serious crimes.  It was approved by the voters of Oregon, by nearly a two-thirds majority, in 1994 and went into effect on April 1, 1995.  It was reaffirmed by the voters in 2000. 

Measure 11 covers violent crimes and serious sex offenses only.  It does not apply to drug crimes or property crimes.  Here are the Measure 11 crimes and their respective minimum sentences:

Crime
Measure 11 Minimum Sentence
Arson I
Assault I
Assault II
Attempted Aggravated Murder
Attempted Murder
Kidnapping I
Kidnapping II
Manslaughter I
Manslaughter II
Murder
Rape I
Rape II
Robbery I
Robbery II
Sexual Abuse I
Unlawful Sexual Penetration I
Unlawful Sexual Penetration II
Sodomy I
Sodomy II
Using a Child in a Display of Sexually Explicit 
   Conduct
Compelling Prostitution
7 years, 6 months
7 years, 6 months
5 years, 10 months
10 years
7 years, 6 months
7 years, 6 months or 25 years
5 years, 10 months
10 years
6 years, 3 months
25 years
8 years, 4 months or 25 years
6 years, 3 months
7 years, 6 months
5 years, 10 months
6 years, 3 months
8 years, 4 months or 25 years
6 years, 3 months
8 years, 4 months or 25 years
6 years, 3 months
5 years, 10 months

5 years, 10 months


*In some cases, the judge has discretion to exempt the offender from Measure 11 mandatory sentencing if certain criteria are met.  The 25 year sentences for sex crimes and Kidnapping I may be imposed under the provisions of HB 3511, known as "Jessica's Law for Oregon", for crimes against a child under the age of 12.