Health & Human Services

Washington County's Department of Health and Human Services provides prevention, protection and support services and activities so that all people who live, work, study and play in Washington County can be healthy, self-sufficient and safe.

Educating people through public health efforts, providing safety to vulnerable children and adults, addressing addictions and enabling people to live independently are just a few examples of how this is accomplished.

We are comprised of the following major offices and divisions:

  • Human Services
    • Addictions (Alcohol, Drugs and Gambling)
    • Developmental Disabilities
    • Mental Health
  • Public Health
    • Disease Control and Prevention (DCAP)
    • Emergency Medical Services/Medical Examiner
    • Environmental Health
    • Health Equity, Planning and Policy (HEPP)
    • Maternal and Child Health (MCH)
    • Emergency Preparedness
    • Research, Analytics, Informatics and Data (RAID)
    • Women, Infants and Children (WIC)
  • Animal Services
  • Children, Youth and Families
  • Disability, Aging and Veteran Services (DAVS)
  • Solid Waste & Recycling Program
  • Administrative Services
  • Office of Policy, Integration and Quality

To learn how Washington County ranks on health outcomes and factors, read the County Health Rankings report for 2016.

Washington County is a founding partner of Healthy Columbia Willamette. On this page, you'll find a wealth of information about how this collaboration among hospitals and health departments is working to improve the health of our community.

Washington County Department of Health and Human Services does not discriminate in its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or a part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance program.