FAQ - Licensing
A. You may purchase a one, two or three year dog license. It is your responsibility to provide a current rabies vaccination certificate to Animal Services in order to keep your license active.
A. Animal care staff can look at a male dog to determine whether it has been neutered. On a spayed female, you will need verification from a veterinarian.
Q.I give my own shots so I can't furnish proof from a veterinarian that my dog has had his rabies shot. What can I do?
A. Only rabies vaccinations given by a licensed veterinarian are considered valid in Oregon for dogs, cats and ferrets.
Q.I just moved to Washington County and have a dog license from another area that is still active. Can my dog use this license until it expires?
A. Yes, Washington County honors licenses from other jurisdictions with proof of validity. You may also transfer your valid license from your old address to your new address in Washington County by paying a nominal fee.
A. If your dog is spayed or neutered AND you are 65 years or better, you will qualify for a reduced licensing fee.
A. --Dog license tags help reunite lost dogs with their owners.
--If your dog is impounded and is current on its Washington County dog license, then the impound fee for a first offense is only $10.00. That compares to an impound fee of $50.00 for a first offense on an unlicensed dog.
--When local residents find stray dogs, they can call Animal Services. With the license numbers, our staff can give the dog finder your contact information.
--When an Animal Services officer finds a dog with a license, the officer calls the shelter to find out who owns it so they can attempt to take the dog home.
--If your dog is found injured and wearing its license, Animal Services officers will attempt to obtain emergency medical attention for it and contact you with the details.
--A license is a good idea and it’s the law.
A. Washington County Animal Services offers free licensing to all puppies less than six months of age. When the puppy reaches six months, you must submit the dog’s rabies vaccination certification to convert it into an adult dog license.
A. Washington County Animal Code requires a dog to wear a license tag that Washington County issues. A license tag is issued after payment and proof of rabies is received.
Dogs are required to have a current rabies vaccination and some veterinarians issue a separate rabies tag.
A microchip is a device that is implanted at the base of the neck in an animal. It is encoded with a unique number.
Animal Services recommends microchips for all pets. However, they are not required for licensing.
A. You may purchase a dog license at any of the following:
Bonnie L. Hays Small Animal Shelter
1901 S.E. 24th Avenue
Hillsboro, OR 97123
Through the mail
On our Internet Web site at www.LicenseYourPet.com (the online vendor charges a $2.49 transaction fee for Web licensing)
At many of the local veterinary clinics in Washington County.