Death records are available to authorized individuals, upon request from this office, up to six months from the date of death.
To request a certified death certificate, please use the order form on this Web site to ensure that all the required information is provided. Be sure to fill it out completely as failure to do so may delay the process. Certificates can be ordered by mail or in person. The first copy of a certificate is $20.00; each additional copy ordered at the same time is $15.00. Do not send cash when ordering by mail. Please make your check or money order payable to VITAL RECORDS. We regret that we do not accept debit or credit cards.
Ordering a Certificate
- A current valid Identification is required when requesting a certified death certificate, in person, at our office.
- “Full Certified” death certificate includes the medical portion of the death record.
- “Fact of Death Certified” death certificate does not include the medical portion of the death record.
- Death Certificate Order Form (in Spanish)
Access to death records filed in the State Vital Records office of Oregon is restricted for 50 years after the date of the death to family members and their legal representatives, persons or organizations with a personal or property right, government agencies and persons licensed in Oregon under ORS 703.40.
The following are authorized to order either a “Full Certified” or “Fact of Death” death certificate:
- Staff from a funeral home that was in charge of final disposition arrangements.
- United States Department of Veteran Affairs, the Director Veterans’ Affairs or any county service officer may request and receive two (2) free copies of the certificate of death. These requests may also come from the funeral home in charge of the final disposition arrangements
- Any family member, including extended family member.
- Any government agency which needs the record to conduct business: law enforcement agencies, Motor Vehicles, IRS, Social Security, etc.
- Anyone with a personal or property right:
- Any organization or business which is responsible for paying death benefits. (Insurance companies, employers, pension funds, etc.)
- Creditors – businesses, credit companies who are owed money by the decedent.
- Divorced spouses – For Social Security benefits.
- Immediate family members of a child for the biological father’s death certificate, even if the father is not listed on the child’s birth certificate. Family may be able to prove paternity by some means to satisfy requirements of Social Security for benefits.
The following are eligible to receive “Fact of Death” a certified death certificate only:
- Non-family member or business attempting to clear titles on properties or vehicles they own or have inherited. Normally the deceased person is a previous owner or was a co-owner of the property. (A person seeking to buy property where a deceased person may be on the title does not have a right to the death record.)
- Firms locating heirs as part of their business in the distribution of unclaimed estates. Requests should be made on official letterhead of the firm and state the reason for needing the record.
- Oregon licensed private investigators. Investigators must provide enough information to identify a specific record. Records ordered by mail should include a photocopy of the investigator’s Oregon license.
After 6 Months from the Date of Death:
Certified copies for individuals who died in Oregon more than 6 months ago must be obtained from the Oregon Center for Health Statistics (Vital Records).
- Directions to State Office Building