Retrieving Property Held As Evidence
Property is released by appointment only. You must call an Evidence Officer at (503) 846-2797 to request an appointment. Hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 3:30 pm.
If a deputy issued a property receipt to you, items listed on the receipt are under the protection of the Washington County Sheriff's Office. Please review the appropriate directions below to recover your property.
Held for Observation
Property will be held for 72 working hours pending issuance of a complaint. If no charges are filed, the property may be returned after 72 hours upon proof of ownership. Contact an Evidence Officer to confirm that your items are in this category.
Held Due to Mental Illness or Psychiatric Commitment
Weapons have been seized pursuant to law; there is a minimum 30 day holding period. To have your weapon(s) returned, you must file a written request with the Evidence Officer within 30 days of this notice. If you do not file a written request, the weapon(s) will be destroyed without further notice.
Statutes Regarding Found Property
ORS 98.005 essentially provides:
(1) If any person finds money or goods valued at $100 or more, and if the owner of the money or goods is unknown, such person, within 10 days after the date of the finding, shall give notice of the finding in writing to the county clerk of the county in which the money or goods was found. Within 20 days after the date of the finding, the finder of the money or goods shall cause to be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county a notice of the finding once each week for two consecutive weeks. Each such notice shall state the general description of the money or goods found, the name and address of the finder and final date before which such goods may be claimed.
(2) If no person appears and establishes ownership of the money or goods prior to the expiration of three months after the date of the notice to the county clerk under subsection (1) of this section, the finder shall be the owner of the money or goods.
The finder must give written notice to the Washington County Sheriff's Office, Evidence Division, within 10 days of the finding that the finder claims the property if an owner is not located.
ORS 98.025 essentially provides:
Rights of the owner. If an owner of money or goods found by another person appears and establishes a claim to such money or goods within the time period described by ORS 98.005 or 98.015, whichever applies, the owner shall have restitution of such money or goods or their value upon payment of all costs and charges incurred in the finding, giving of notice, care and custody of such money or goods.
Stolen or Embezzled Property
Property has been taken from you which is allegedly stolen or embezzled. Upon filing a Declaration of Ownership, and after you have been given an opportunity to be heard on the matter, the property may be turned over to the person claiming to be the true owner, after all criminal investigation is complete. If criminal charges are filed, refer to Evidence below.
If a weapon was held for safekeeping because of a domestic violence dispute, contact the Evidence Officer for assistance. In the case of first time seizures with no other police history, the process of returning the weapon may begin after 48 hours, or be disposed of if not claimed within 6 months. If you are arrested or cited for domestic violence, refer to Evidence below.
Wait 60 days after adjudication of your case to contact the Evidence Officer for information regarding the release of your property. If your name and your correct address were provided to the officer or deputy at the time the receipt was given to you, you should receive a letter from the Evidence Officer notifying you to make an appointment to retrieve your property.
Items will be held for 90 days for pick-up by the owner, by appointment. After 90 days, the items will be destroyed.
Prior to any weapons being released, a background check will be performed to ascertain your eligibility to receive these weapons.