Domestic Partnerships

Customer Advisory: COVID-19 Two-Week Pause and Freeze

Effective November 17, 2020, our offices will have limited access due to Governor Brown's recent Two-Week Pause and statewide Two-Week Freeze. The public is encouraged to use the alternate options of phone, email, US Postal Service, or online.

Forms, instructions, and answers to frequently asked questions may be obtained at the following web link:

State of Oregon Domestic Partnership Forms/Instructions

http://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/RegisterVitalRecords/Pages/dp.aspx

Domestic Partnership forms may also be obtained in person at address below, however the public is encouraged to call (503) 846-8752 to discuss your service needs.

     Washington County Recording Office
     155 N. First Ave, Suite 130

     Hillsboro, OR  97124

or by mail at:

     Washington County Recording Office
     155 N First Ave, Room 130 MS9
     Hillsboro, OR  97124
 

The registration fee is $60.00, payable when the declaration form is filed. We accept cash, checks, money order, debit & most charge cards. Debit & charge cards will be processed with an additional convenience charge of 2.45% (minimum $1.50).

Hours for obtaining forms are:  Weekdays 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

To obtain a domestic partnership form by mail, please send a self-addressed stamped envelope to the address listed above.  A form will be mailed to you with instructions on how to fill it out.  Upon approval, which is normally within 3 days of receipt, we will send your certificate to you.

Requirements and Conditions
 
  • Registrants do not need to be residents of Washington County.
  • One registrant must be an Oregon resident.
  • There is no waiting period.
  • The Domestic Partnership form must be signed by both parties, and must have signatures notarized.  Please be advised that there is no notary available in the County Clerk's office.
  • There are no exceptions or waivers to the registration fee.
  • No refunds are made once the form is filed.
  • Legal age in the State of Oregon for both parties is 18 year of age.
When Domestic Partnerships Are Not Recognized
 
Oregon state law does not allow a domestic partnership to be issued to parties of opposite gender.
Oregon state law does not allow a domestic partnership between first cousins or nearer kin.
 

For further information:

  • Phone: (503) 846-8752
  • Fax: (503) 846-3909
  • E-Mail to: at@co.washington.or.us

Español: Para más información, llame al (503) 846-8752