National Fair Housing Month - 2014

Release date: 04/01/2014
Sponsored by: Board of Commissioners


Throughout our national history, some groups of people have benefited more from housing opportunities than others.  The federal Fair Housing Act, initially adopted in the wake of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and subsequently augmented through amendments to the Act, prohibits discrimination in housing based on seven protected classes: race, color, religion, national origin, gender, disability, and familial status (the presence of children in the household). 

In addition, Oregon fair housing law guarantees that housing throughout the State of Oregon should be made available to all citizens without regard to marital status, legal sources of income, sexual orientation including gender identity, honorably discharged veterans/military status, and survivors of domestic violence.

Recognizing Fair Housing Month in Washington County supports both regional and national efforts to celebrate the strides that have been made as well as recognizes the work that remains to be done.


Read the proclamation.  




Media Contact:

Julie McCloud, Assistant Communications Officer
(503) 846-8685