Harold M. Haynes Community Involvement Award

The Committee for Community Involvement (CCI) gives the Harold M. Haynes Citizen Involvement Award to honor individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership engaging members of their community in civic affairs.

Purpose and criteria: The Haynes Award celebrates those who do work that provides benefits such as: 

  • fostering positive leadership;
  • bringing clarity to complex Washington County issues;
  • informing or shaping decisions through community input, especially through substantial efforts that have a positive impact;
  • inclusive community engagement that broadens and diversifies participation, especially with younger populations and historically under-represented communities;
  • building trust, transparency and responsiveness in government.

The award was created in 1998 following the death of Dr. Harold M. Haynes of Forest Grove. Haynes was a citizen statesman and constant advocate for state land use Goal 1, requiring citizen involvement in all phases of planning. 

DEADLINE EXTENSION! Nominations for the 2017 award will be accepted through Friday, Jan. 5, 2018 (via electronic time stamp, ground mail, or hand delivery by end of that day).

Download the 2017 award nomination form.

Award recipients

Luis Nava 2016 Harold Haynes Winner
2016: Luis Nava

2011: Kathy Stallkamp

2010: Lisa L. Hamilton

2009: Brian Beinlich, Virginia Bruce, Richard Smith, Patricia Whiting

2008: Fairgrounds Revitalization Task Force

2007: Robert Bailey, Ken Henschel

2006: Henry Oberhelman

2005: Mary Manseau
2004: Bruce Bartlett, Charlie Conrad

2003: Liles Garcia

2002: David Hoffman

2001: Walt Gorman

2000: Robert Bothman

1999: John Leeper

1998: Peggy Lynch

No call for nominations was made in 2014 due to the transition away from CPO Program support by Oregon State University Extension Service.