Fair Housing

Fair Housing

What is Fair Housing?

The set of federal, state, and local civil rights laws that protect individuals based on their membership in a protected class from individual or systemic discrimination in housing transactions.

Who is Protected?

Federal Protected Classes

Oregon’s Additional State Protected Classes



Marital Status


Source of income (Section 8/Housing Choice Vouchers)

National Origin

Sexual Orientation


Gender Identity


Local Ordinances

Familial Status (families with children under 18)

Domestic Violence Survivors protected under Oregon landlord tenant law



Types of Discrimination

  • Disparate Treatment: People are treated differently in similar situations based on one of the protected classes.
    • Example: A property management company does not consider rental applications from people of racial minority groups (intentional discrimination based on race).
  • Disparate Impact (Hud Rule Definition): A practice that actually or predictably results in a disparate impact on a group of persons or creates, increases, reinforces, or perpetuates segregated housing patterns because of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin.
    • Example: A property management company will only consider full-time employment in calculating the income of prospective tenants. This results in disparate impact on people who receive disability payments (discrimination based on disability).