The Animal Services Division licenses dogs and also licenses some kennels.
All dogs in Washington County are required by law to be licensed. Cats and other animals are not licensed in our county.
All dogs must be licensed at :
- 6 months of age,
- or when they have permanent canine teeth
- or within 30 days of acquisition
- or within 30 days after new residents move into Washington County.
A license is required even if the dog is always on the owner's property, is always indoors, or lives on a farm. Dogs are required by law to wear their metal license tags whenever they're off their owner's property.