A New Board of Commissioners for 2011

Release date: 01/19/2011
Sponsored by: Board of Commissioners

Meet Your New Board of Commissioners


Washington County Board of Commissioners

As a first order of business for the Board of County Commissioners this year, we welcomed two new members and a new chair this winter. This is the most change the Board has seen in several years. Chairman Andy Duyck and Commissioners Greg Malinowski and Bob Terry were sworn into office in January to start their four-year terms. The new members join Commissioners Roy Rogers and Dick Schouten to complete the County's five-member board.

Here are highlights of each member's unique background:

Chairman Andy Duyck assumes his new office after having served for 16 years as the county's District 4 commissioner. Mr. Duyck founded Duyck Machine, Inc., 27 years ago to manufacture metal and plastic components that are marketed throughout the country. As Chair of the Board of Commissioners, Mr. Duyck represents all Washington County residents.

District 1 Commissioner Dick Schouten served as legal counsel for different California cities before he and his family moved to Washington County in 1992. Mr. Schouten has served on several boards and committees, including Metro's Active Transportation Council, Washington County's Aging and Veteran Services Advisory Council and the Bridges to Housing Portland Regional Steering Committee. Commissioner Schouten represents the Aloha, Beaverton, Cooper Mountain and Reedville area.

District 2 Commissioner Greg Malinowski and his family manage 60 acres of farmland growing organic hay and beef between Washington County's Bethany area and Portland's Forest Park. In addition, Mr. Malinowski has worked for over 30 years in high-technology manufacturing and quality inventory control with Merix and Tektronix. Commissioner Malinowski represents Bethany, Cedar Hills, Cedar Mill, Raleigh Hills, Rock Creek and portions of Beaverton and Hillsboro.

District 3 Commissioner Roy Rogers is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and a partner in the firm of Pauly Rogers & Company PC, one of the largest municipal auditors in Oregon. Prior to becoming one of Oregon's longest-serving county commissioners, Mr. Rogers was the mayor of Tualatin from 1978 to 1985. Commissioner Rogers represents the communities of Bull Mountain, Garden Home, Metzger and the cities of Durham, Tigard, Tualatin, King City, Sherwood and a portion of Wilsonville.

District 4 Commissioner Bob Terry owns Fisher Farms, a regional provider of value-added nursery stock employing over 200 people and based in rural Washington County. Prior to his business career, Mr. Terry served in the U.S. Navy from 1962 to 1966, including deployment aboard the supercarrier USS America. Commissioner Terry represents a large portion of the rural area of Washington County including Banks, Cornelius, Forest Grove, Gaston, Hillsboro and North Plains.

As your five-member Board, we set County policy and give direction to a professional administrator and departmental staff. The Board of County Commissioners also serves as the board of directors of Clean Water Services, a public utility committed to protecting water resources in the Tualatin River Watershed. More information about the Board can be found at www.co.washington.or.us/boc.

We look forward to serving you!

Chairman Andy Duyck
Commissioner Greg Malinowski
Commissioner Roy Rogers
Commissioner Dick Schouten
Commissioner Bob Terry